Last Meridiana closed a couple of weeks ago which is a.pity as it appeared to be doing well.
We have been clients for over 40 years, and whilst ownership has changed the food is as good as ever. The ambiance is a huge improvement on what it was. I miss the faces of the previous waiting staff, but the new team was excellent.
We went to the early sitting on New Years Eve which worked out very well for us as it meant we had a nice meal before going on to friends to see the New Year in. It was quiet at the beginning of the evening (perhaps not many people realised you could get a delicious meal at a reduced rate early on) but it filled up very quickly. Food excellent and service also excellent.
Have been here a number of times in the past - and been very satisfied.
There has been a recent "makeover" which has not been for the better. Previously, the upstairs area was open & well lit - now it's part bar (empty when we visited) and part dining area.
We were shown to a downstairs table right next to the till with a draft coming from the windows, so we asked to be moved: previously, we have sat upstairs, which was nice & airy.
Ordered the smoked salmon starter - after about 5 minutes, the waiter came up & said "we're out of smoked salmon," so I chose a (cheaper) alternative.
The main courses were fine, and then one of us ordered the cheesecake for desert: again, the waiter came back & said "we're out of cheesecake" so an alternative was elected.
How you can be out of smoked salmon & cheesecake in an Italian restaurant on Xmas Eve when you're open on Xmas Day defies belief.
When the bill came, they had added the more expensive smoked salmon starter: when I pointed this out to the owner, he said "well spotted" - no hint of an apology.
So, a major disappointment. They have managed to turn an all-round excellent Italian restaurant experience into something lacking atmosphere, offering a partly available menu and without any charm or warmth what so ever.
We won't be back any time soon, unfortunately.
We have visited this resterant many times over past years,the standard of service lacks attention of the previous owner.
Although the food on this occasion met our expectation, the frills are lacking.
No atmosphere, having to ask for service ,I believe this will be our last visit.
La Meridiana has improved immensely and it is now a pleasure to dine there compared to the past year or so.
Fern - thank you for your review, we look forward to seeing you again soon. Duncan and team
Perfect venue for a birthday get together with local friends. The food was excellent and the staff most helpful. We’ll definitely return soon.
Thank you Saskia, appreciate the review and rating, we look forward to seeing you again soon. Duncan and team
Very welcoming. Excellent value for money. Very Friendly service. Will go again
Thanks David - we look forward to seeing you again soon. Duncan and team
Was very pleased to go back to La Meridiana and find it is reverting back to its past excellence. Had been extremely disappointed in the past but things have changed for the better now that Duncan has taken charge and the lunch and service were really good. I can see I will be a regular customer now!
Fern - thank you for your review and glad that you've noticed things are on the up at La Meridiana. We look forward to seeing you soon. Duncan and team
We went thinking we could get a pizza after the nursery school nativity play with our grandson so we were a bit embarrassed to arrive to find everything set up for a 3 course Christmas lunch function - however we needn’t have worried the 3 course menu was very good value at £23 each - food was really delicious and they had a children’s menu on offer which included cheesy pasta so in the end everyone was happy and they made us feel very welcome
Hi - I'm pleased you felt welcome and loved the food despite pizzas only being available (currently) Friday and Saturday evenings. We hope to see you again soon. Duncan and team
My friends and I always go at Christmas and we are never disappointed.
Sandra - glad we are hitting the mark again, thanks for your review and comments and we hope to see you again before next Christmas! Thanks Duncan and team
Good quality starter and main course. Will be returning shortly.
Martyn Thank you for your review and comments, we look forward to seeing you again soon. Duncan and team
We have been here several times before but this time it was extremely disappointing. this restaurant has changed hands and is not a patch on what it was. The menu is very ordinary and just like any restaurant now but at top prices. The food was over cooked. More tables have been added and the waiting staff cannot cope.
Gordon I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your time here at La Meridiana, I guess we cannot please all the people all the time despite trying. It's a shame the menu is ordinary and it's a shame we're just like any restaurant now, it's a shame about the top prices too. It's a shame you think we've added more tables and it's a shame the waiting staff couldn't cope. And I do agree with you - the previous owner was a consummate professional. He still eats here regularly and sings our praises.
Relaxed atmosphere, attentive service without being overbearing. Provided the perfect opportunity for casual lunch & catching up with a girlfriend. Three course set menu provided reasonable choice, was well presented & enjoyed. Will definitely return to try the a la carte menu one evening.
Tables were a little close together, but noticed what appeared to be a more spacious area on the upper level.
Bobbi - thank you very much for your review, we look forward to seeing you again soon. Duncan and team
We had a lovely anniversary supper at La Meridiana at the weekend. The food was great and the service efficient. We enjoyed meeting Duncan who owns the restaurant and would highly recommend a visit.
Kingston Thank you for your review and comments, we are very pleased and look forward to seeing you again soon. Duncan and team
Fabulous lunch, tip-top!
Would definitely return to enjoy another great meal.
Linda Thank you for your review and comments - great to hear, we look forward to seeing you again soon. Duncan and team
We went as a group of 6 for a birthday celebration and we were not disappointed. The service was first class and the food was extremely good . We will be returning very soon.
Clare Thank you for your 5 star and lovely comments - we look forward to seeing you again soon. Duncan and team
Visited on the 'Rod Stewart' Tribute night. The atmosphere was great - fully booked, lively and entertaining. The service was good and the food (set menu for tribute night) was excellent - good menu choice, beautifully presented, quick service and very tasty! We have been fairly regular diners at this restaurant, but first time on a tribute night. We all thoroughly enjoyed the experience.
Susan Thanks for your review and rating. Rod Stewart night was amazing. Really good night was had by all and I'm pleased to say everyone left saying what a great night. I look forward to seeing you again soon, and I will definitely be having Rod back again - he was amazing! Duncan and team
The food and service was excellent , will definitely return
Vicky - thank you for your rating and review, we look forward to serving you again soon. Duncan and team
Food and service much improved under new ownership. Relaxed atmosphere and attentive, friendly staff. Quick service. Balanced menu with items to satisfy my vegetarian wife. Didn’t have one but pizza’s looked good. Will return soon to try them for ourselves!!
Hi Rockgeo Thank you for your four stars and comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Pizzas are very very good, take away or eat in on Friday and Saturday evenings. Duncna and team
The food was excellent and prices reasonable for the area and the quality. But this restaurant shines when it comes to service. We had a large party with an inconvenient time slot and they accomodated all of our needs. They made great wine and limoncello recommendations. Very grateful for such good service!!
Julia Thank you for your review and kind words, we're really hitting the mark now and look forward to seeing you again soon. Duncan and team
Menus muddled on arrival with set menu withdrawn despite being available on web site
No drinks offered on arrival, meal order was not delivered correctly Maitre d apologised taking the blame for error. Waiters obviously still learning.
Long delay between courses when restaurant was less than half full and very slow service to obtain wine list
Food and wine when finally delivered was good with portions almost over generous
Despite redecoration lighting is insufficient and pricing much higher than former owners
A long way to go to match the quality, professionalism and sheer enjoyment of the former staff.
David. It's a shame the menus were muddled. It's a shame we're not perfect. It's a shame you didn't ask for drinks instead of saying nothing so you could mention it in your review. It's a shame the waiters are obviously still learning. It's a shame there was a long delay between courses. It's a shame there was very slow service to obtain a wine list. It's a shame your memory of pricing is wrong - I have the previous menu in front of me. It's a shame you're not coming back
We hadn’t been to this restaurant for some time and immediately saw it was under new management and had been redecorated. The staff introduced themselves, were very attentive and the food was superb. I had the pate followed by the fish and both were excellent. I was 3 other people who all commented on the first class food presentation and quality. I will certainly be going back again. The set menu was reasonable and the ambiance was friendly and attentive.
The menu has shortened and dishes like scampi Thermidor have been lost. The prices have also been increased. Perhaps not surprising there was only one other table. When the three ladies occupying it left there was only us two eating alone. The head waiter or maitre d is not to everyone's taste. While the decor has had a refurb the other changes are negative in their effect on the experience. I regret that I shall not be revisiting any time soon
We had another lovely birthday family meal at La Meridiana. Filleted sardines for starters and delicious rainbow trout for mains. Everything always cooked to perfection and we look forward to our next visit!
I have been having lunches at La Meridiana for years. Had a nice one on Thursday. Chose the set menu, which was as good as I remembered. The main course is supposed to be served with potatoes and vegetables, but as I didn’t want potatoes, just requested vegetables, which they charged me extra for....I wondered why. The vegetables only consisted of green beans.Not good
Only ones in the restaurant . That choice of music being pop was not what I wanted to be listening to on a relaxing evening out
Although this restaurant has had a refurbishment recently we were disappointed that they were storing equipment in their entranceway. The music choice
Was also odd, not very relaxing. It felt dated inside already!
Our waitress was very nice and helpful, our male waiter surly and un-smiling. The restaurant manager for the evening.... a little too enthusiastic?
The food was ok saved mostly by the risotto which was very good. We have a home in Italy and we were
Looking forward to a taste of Italian cuisine. Some of the food choices are tricky because we don’t eat pork or shellfish and the menu was heavy with both of these food groups. Not entirely the restaurants fault.
I’m sorry to say we won’t be back, but I’m sure they won’t want us either!!
Thanks for the review, I'm pleased you enjoyed the food, I really don't agree that the restaurant feels dated already - it could hardly look more modern! I agree the draft beer fridge in the lobby looked like storage - I have now moved it next to the bar where it is more at home. Never say never! Duncan and team
Great friendly staff and lovely food - we will be back
Emde Thanks for your review - glad you had a good time and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Duncan and team
Booking a table using internet is not easy. I prefer to speak to someone. The threat that there are time limits depending on the number of guests is intimidating implying that you were fully booked. In fact there were lots of empty tables for the lunch on Friday.
Reunion Thanks for your review - we'll always take bookings over the phone, if busy or closed leave a message and we'll call back. I'm sorry the nuances of the booking system can be difficult to get used to. Glad you enjoyed your time when you were here and we hope to see you again soon. Duncan and team
Very friendly and helpful staff answered all of our questions. Food was great would definitely recommend to friends. Ambiance was quiet as not many customers in that night but they are planning lots of special events which would encourage me to return.
Kevin Thanks for your review and comments, we look forward to seeing you again soon. Duncan and team
Excellent as always... thank you to lovely Perry and his staff for looking after us . Usual high standard for food quality and quantity....
Thank you Michelle - see you again soon. Duncan
Dreadful experience - presented with 5 menu folders 3 of which were empty, sent them back for 3 others, 2 of which were also blank. 20 minute wait before any order for pre dinner drinks was taken and a further 10 minutes before they were delivered. 40 minute wait between starter and main course. First sitting, but out of cannelloni! Ordered a second bottle of wine (to fill the void) - after a further delay informed that this was out - no alternatives suggested. Asked for bill with coffee - coffee never arrived but bill did, complete with a charge for a bottle of wine we never had, an additional coffee we hadn't ordered and 12.5% service charge with no indication that this was optional. A heavy discount and no service charge was successfully negotiated, but this did not compensate for a completely miserable Saturday evening. Sole saving grace was that the food when we did get it was reasonably good. I could not recommend this place to anybody as an acceptable dining experience.
VicB We clearly failed for you on this occasion, and I'm sorry for that. I've discussed the specifics of your comments with the team who recognise that we failed you on Saturday night and we've included elements in the recent half day training we've undertaken. Duncan and team
Great to find the new management have retained the delicious classic Italian food.
David Thank you for your review and rating, we hope to see you again soon. Duncan and team
Fabulous set menu, good value for money!
Lovely young attentive waitress,
Lovely front of house welcome.
Defo go back soon
LisaL Thank you for that lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Duncan and team
Great location, fantastic food and pretty good pricing.
There isnt much more to say.
Great staff who were fun and attentive.
Go if you can
David Thank you for your review - glad you had such a good time, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Duncan and the team
Second time and what a difference
First time I went would have given top scores, I had been intending to hold chairman’s dinner in October couldn’t have been more impressed.
Last week although the food was still good, the prices had risen dramatically and although not ridiculously over priced the drinks were asked for a single gin and got charged £12 because the waitress was not good she forgot to order my starter and when we mentioned to her still didn’t come. I had to ask kitchen staff. Finally arrived along time after my wife had finished hers.
So food good, service poor
Jamie Thank you for your review, and I'm sorry the service wasn't up to scratch on your second visit. We have had a complete change of front of house staff in the last few weeks. Perry and I are acutely aware of the training need and are recruiting and training as fast as possible. It is unfortunate that during this time we have under delivered for you. We must get this right ASAP as we should differentiate ourselves with our service I hope you come and try us again. Duncan and the team
Perry, the two ladies who we unfortunately didn't get their names, and the owner gave outstanding service that I could not fault. They also made the night very romantic for us and we are a new couple, so that was great. We read reviews before coming here that they gave fantastic service which we cannot agree more with. The staff were so friendly, the food was fantastic, the ambience of the room was lovely and we had a fantastic night. I would recommend to anyone and everyone.
Charlie Thank you for that review and rating - we hope to see you soon for more of the same Duncan and team
We moved to Horsley this year and were excited to see an Italian restaurant in the village. What a shame, this place could be so good and it misses the mark by a very long way. Staff in any type of clothes, and a general lack of what they should be doing was obvious. Standardised dress code is surely a must even if just white shirt black trousers etc. Staff over familiarity is something I don’t require when out for dinner, polite and professional. Food was very average, I cook better at home and don’t end up with an over inflated bill. One thing that really annoys me is paying for poor food and service. I would suggest that all the staff and owner take a trip to La Fiamma in Hampton Court sit and have a meal and watch how a restaurant should operate, also take a copy of their menu and pricing and learn. I read reviews before I went and suggested we went to the pub instead, however my friends overalled me. I would not go to La Meridiana again as I left feeling slightly ill and very annoyed by the whole evening. I never write reviews even if I’m not impressed but really people should avoid this place and use their hard earned cash wisely. Call Gordon Ramsey if I were you.
SRush Wow. Harsh. Some fair, some not. Dress code - agreed and actioned. Familiarity is obviously personal and we got it wrong with you - apologies. Re food, you should mention to staff at the time if not happy with anything - they will have asked, but we must aim for right first time. You will have been offered our great value set menu available almost every sitting £15.90, freshly cooked and delicious, with great variety. Duncan and team Sorry that we appear to have got it wrong for you.
Food and service were good, perhaps the latter was a bit too effusive!
The prices were high for away from London and the phrase ‘discretionary service charge’ continues to irritate.
Either add a service charge or don’t!
DoctorC Thanks for your review, discretionary service charge is really standard across the industry, I'm sorry it irritated you - also at almost all sittings we have some really great set menu options at £15.90 for two courses of freshly cooked delicious food - really good value. We're pleased you thought the food and service were 4* even if effusive. We hope to see you again soon. Duncan and the team.
La Meridianaは Just Eat と提携してデリバリーを行っています。
OpenTable ダイナー106名によるLa Meridianaの評価は4.1☆です。