The Old Thatched Cottage
Sticky Toffee Pudding
Our most requested homemade dessert served warm with a choice of custard, cream or ice cream
Fish Goujons and Chips
Sustainably-caught cod or haddock (subject to seasonal availability)
Food was gorgeous, staff welcoming. Would definitely return. Highly recommend
Our fourth visit since lockdown was lifted. Welcoming atmosphere; excellent, well prepared food at reasonable prices. Nice location on the sea front at Weston-super-Mare with the outside tables sheltered and heated by fire pits. Modern interior.
Well recommended for good service, a varied menu and good food nicely presented all at a reasonable price. Yes, it was quite noisy by that was because the restaurant was very busy with diners.
Great service start to finish, and most importantly the standard of food was outstanding 5* really enjoyed our anniversary and my wife’s birthday very much at the Thatched Cottage.
We were made welcome as soon as we arrived, we had a lovely evening. The food was quick to arrive, perfectly cooked and delicious.
Beautiful restaurant and the tables outside with the hot coals was amazing and made if pleasant to sit in the evening watching the sun go down.
Food was very nice indeed, took a little time coming out but they were very busy, definitely worth the wait
Perfect lovely family afternoon lunch many thanks 🙏
It is the first meal that we have had out since the pandemic where both the food and the service were excellent. They have nailed it! Attentive staff and great food that was worth a little bit of a wait.
The outdoor seating with the gas fire pit was lovely.
Lovely Sunday dinner and excellent friendly service
Very friendly and welcoming. Great service and food was delicious.
If inside windows need to be open. Lovely place to eat
Music level acceptable and staff always polite
The food was great, the only problem was, we were sat right next to the window that was real cold. There were other tables but we were not given an option to use those.
Outside table with fire pit. Sunset was stunning. Good service and several gluten free options - enjoyed the garlic prawns and kleftiko. Would recommend.
Excellent food, courteous staff and a relaxed atmosphere.
imaginative outdoor seating, brick tables with built in fire pits for each table. Outdoor seating has Perspex walls and roofing, so you have shelter from wind and rain.
Cheerful friendly service and food services quite quickly too.
Food good, menu choices a bit limited at lunch time, which helps with quick service I suppose, but does include vegan/vegetarian.
As always the most perfect place to have dinner ! Great food and service ! Look forward to returning again when we are here in Weston!
Thank you for taking the time to leave this lovely review, we are so glad you thought the food and service was great. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Weston.
Four of us on a golf trip we have a great meal and wine, just what was needed
Hi Neil, Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed your meal and wine. Hope you all enjoyed your golf trip.
We had some visitors coming from London and thought it would be a good place to meet up - felt very safe. The tables outside had firepits and it was lovely and warm on a wet evening. Plenty of places and space around the table for the five of us. Waitresses friendly and joining in the banter.
Thank you for a great meal. My husband said he could imagine he was in Cyprus when eating his meal!
Thank you so much for the lovely review, we are so glad that you felt the restaurant was safe. I also love the firepits outside and could sit there all night. Glad you had a lovely evening with your visitors.
Food was delicious , service was friendly, welcoming and excellent
Hi Stella, Thank you for a wonderful review, so glad your food was delicious and the staff were friendly and welcoming.
Amazing food, great service, excellent in every way. Superb Sunday lunch highly recommended, but we will certainly return to sample more from the menu!
A fab meal as always. Staff lovely and friendly, food great, restaurant clean and tidy and loved the ousde seating area.
My only slight criticism would be and it's just me being fussy would be to have the roast potatoes smaller, I had 2 massive ones on my plate which if smaller would be crispy.
I would still definitely recommend everyone to visit and I will be back myself.
Many thanks for a fab Sunday dinner, 10 out of 10.
Hi Deb, Thank you for a lovely review, we are so glad you had a good time and food was great. We will take your comment on board about the roast potatoes. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Fab place with great food and great service a lovely way to spend an evening
So glad you had a good evening and the food was great, thank you for a wonderful review.
I had the Kleftiko which was quite good, but I've had better at a much more reasonable price. I felt this restaurant lacked atmosphere, and should try a bit harder to make what could be an interesting place more attractive to customers who are paying over the odds for " just good enough" food and wine.
Hi AJ, we are so sorry you though the Kleftiko was only quite good, most of our customers really enjoy that dish and it has been a first favourite on the menu for over 25 years. Unfortunately we don't have any plans to change the way it is cooked, so it may be best to pick something else if you were to visit again (which we hope you do). In terms of the atmosphere, what do you think we could do better? Would you have any suggestions for us?
This was for my parents diamond wedding anniversary...they thoroughly enjoyed them selves...thank you to Julia and team xx
Hi Carole, Thank you so much for the lovely review. So glad your mum and dad enjoyed themselves on their diamond anniversary.
The food was the worst I have had for some time. The chicken souvlaki was dry and inedible. The first lot of chips for my wife's fish and ships were cold. The fish batter was 'wet' with oil as if it had been fried when the oil temp was too low. It was then 'thrown on the top of the chips upside down. I can't believe a professional chef let this leave the kitchen. Disgusting. I suggest the chef finds another profession.
The manager did her best and only charged for the starters but I must say these were luke warm but tasted OK.
I checked the restaurant out and read all the reviews so was very disappointed.
Food was amazing as always and great service! will be back again on sunday for a lovely roast
Hi Alice, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you again on Sunday.
Thank you for a lovely review.
Good location right on the seafront.
Very welcoming and the service was excellent.
The lamb Kleftiko was very good.
Would love to eat here again.
Hi Gordon, Thank you very much for a great review, We are so glad you enjoyed the lamb kleftiko and we look forward to seeing you again.
excellent meal, would return anytime...................................
Hi Charles, Thank you for taking the time to leave this lovely review. See you again when you return.
Our waiter impressed us very much by how he handled the gluten-free requirements of two of our party. He checked with the chef in detail before assuring us about the gluten-free status. Overall, the service was excellent.
Hi Alan, Thank you so much for the wonderful review, I am so pleased you were impressed by how the waiter handled your gluten-free requirements, hope to see you again soon.
Food was delicious, atmosphere incredible, overlooking the coast was wonderful, had a great time, would recommend to others
Hi Simon, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are very glad your food was delicious and appreciate the recommendation to others, see you again soon.
Thank you for the review and happy anniversary.
It was a good meal but the drinks are very expensive won't be going again
Hi Popsey, really pleased you enjoyed your food, but very sorry to hear that you felt the drinks were expensive. We have wine from £3.75 a glass, spirits from £3.50, soft drinks from £2.50 (or we offer free chilled filtered water) and coffee from £2.95. We do of course have more expensive drinks, but we think we have something for everyone. We notice you gave us 5 out of 5 for service which is great, thank you.
The food was of a high standard . Would recommend to go there
Thank you so much for a great review. We really appreciate the recommendation and hope to see you again soon.
Fabulous thank you will return again.
Beautiful sunset to watch.
Hi Kim, Thank you for a lovely review. We are so glad you thought it was fabulous and also got to watch the beautiful sunset. See you again soon.
Service was great and food was lush as always. Would highly recommend
Hi Carol, We are so glad the service was great and the food was lush as always. Thank you so much for a wonderful review and for the high recommendation. See you soon.
We have eaten here many times but on the most recent occasion the service and food fell below its normal standard. I did message the restaurant before writing a review but no reply. Sad as I thought they would reply as reply to tripadvisor reviews.
Hi Jue, we are very sorry to hear this. We shall look into this right away and come back to you. Best Wishes
Fab location and menu - really refreshing to see something different
Loved the coal fire on table too nice and cost on a summer evening
Thank you for the lovely review, we are so glad you found the staff to be polite and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Have eaten here a few times but last night was a disappointment
Waited over an hour for our starter and we weren't the only ones
In fairness the manager did only charge us for the mains and 1 lot of drinks and was very apologetic
OpenTable ダイナー467名によるThe Old Thatched Cottageの評価は4.5☆です。