Woods at Lambert’s Cove Inn
We were a party of 6 for New Year’s Eve and everything was wonderful. Great food (very creative), service was fast and with a smile! We were actually the last customers of the year as the restaurant was closing for the season that night. The chef came to our table and chatted with us and that added to making the night a memorable one. We will be back during the summer, no question about it.
Great experience. Great food. Great ambiance. Great Service.
Nice atmosphere and great service. Menu different than posted online. Food was good but not outstanding. Reasonably priced.
The service was great, the dining area was very enjoyable and comfortable, and the food was good. Recommend this island experience!
We enjoyed our Thanksgiving dinner but we probably wouldn’t come on a regular basis. We have pretty modest needs for TG: good turkey, mashed potatoes, gravy and pie. That’s what was done well at new LCI. The service was modest - we were seated but after 15 minutes waiting had to ask for a server to order drinks; the buffet had run out of the only hot green vegetable and hot rolls at 3:30 (their service was from 12-6;) the fish alternate was not refreshed and looked sorry and unappetizing; the buffet service utensils weren’t “policed” and were generally messy from use. Generally - the dining room demonstrated management with limited hospitality experience. The room is pretty, LVI has a long happy history on-Island and the servers and host and hostess are friendly, but maybe it would have been better to provide TG service to those staying at the Inn. The menu for “The Day After Thanksgiving” looked more interesting with good ideas for left overs.
Excellent seafood entrees and pot sticker appetizers.
Incredibly good food, amazing hospitality and a beautiful restaurant with many fireplaces, a beautiful bar and overall high dining ambiance.
We truly enjoyed everything about this restaurant! The service was warm, the ambiance, cozy; and the food was beyond our expectations. My very picky husband called it one of the best dinners he'd had all year!
Love driving through the woods to reach Lambert’s Cove. It feels like you’re coming home. The balsamic braised lamb shank and smoked gouda polenta are the extra prize at the end of the drive.
Hi diningdiva, We are so happy you enjoyed the drive and the food at our restaurant. Please come back to try more dishes!
First off, we called to make a reservation and were told someone would have to call us back. They never did, so after a while I went online and made a reservation via OpenTable. We arrived a bit early for our 8:00 reservation, hoping we could eat earlier. After waiting a bit at the hostess station we made our way into the bar area and were greeted by a server. He sent the hostess over. She was able to seat us a half hour early, which was nice, because half the restaurant was empty. Once seated we realized we were there for "Noodle Night". We were disappointed as that is not what we expected. But we agreed to make the best of it. I ordered a drink with a sake base. It was almost flavorless, and extremely underwhelming. The waitress asked how it was and I said it lacked flavor. She never offered to replace it or take it off the bill. We then decided on the lobster fried rice and the plant based entrée. We were told they had run out of the lobster fried rice. Two hours into the evening and they ran out of an entrée? Okay, so I ordered the ramen instead along with shishito peppers and mussels for an appetizer. The appetizers did not disappoint, they were delicious. However, my ramen was barely edible. It was a dark brown broth with ramen noodles and two slices of roasted pork with all the fat and a poached egg. After a few bites I couldn't eat anymore. My husbands "Asian" soup had potatoes and carrots in it. He was also charged extra for rice noodles rather than vermicelli which he couldn't eat because of a gluten issue. The couple next to us had a similar experience, they also wanted the lobster fried rice. While our waitress was trying her best, it was obvious she was overwhelmed and rushing about. Overall, it was such a disappointing experience. Perhaps they ought to stick to their original menu. Based on other reviews I've read, it seems to be much more popular.
Hi Megbensky, Thanks for your review. We apologize that it was not more clearly communicated to you that it was noodle night on the night you visited, and it seems like the menu would not have been your first choice. We have received very positive feedback on noodle night overall, but do understand that it's not for everyone. We hope you will come back another time to try our regular menu.
HI, The first dinner we had at Woods was really good. The service was OK and the ambience excellent. We like the youthful staff with their enthusiastic energy. The only issue was that the wine list has few reasonably priced choices. The wine we chose was not available although it was on the list and the manager was able to suggest a replacement that worked. He was very helpful. Last Sunday was the first Asian night which was fun! The food was somewhat disappointing. And again the wine we chose ran out and again the replacement was ok. We appreciated the sympathy and kindness in comping us a disappointing dinner entree and the replacement glass of wine. We had a good time despite the hiccups! The server had way too many tables to cover as there was an unexpected dinner crowd! We will continue go to to Woods as for the most part we like dining there!
Hi WendiW, Thanks for your review. We are in the process of revamping and expanding our wine list, so you should soon find many available options that suit your taste. We apologize for any hiccups you experienced - you attended our first noodle night, which turned out to be more popular than we anticipated. We hope to see you back soon for another meal!
Interesting and delicious food. Excellent service. The atmosphere is cozy and relaxed. This was our second visit and we look forward to retuning again.
We are so happy you enjoyed your experience so much and hope to see you again soon!
What a spectacular hidden (not hidden) gem which continues to delight. Innovative tasty cuisine, wonderful modern but warm ambiance in a renovated old Inn come alive again. Exceptional.
Hi JohnO, Thanks so much for your review! We are so happy you had such a great experience. Please do come back again!
The restaurant was beautiful. The service was very attentive. And most importantly, the food was excellent. Both my husband and I were thrilled with our meals! When we return to the Vineyard, we will definitely consider a second visit!
Hi LaurenB, Thank you so much for your review. We're so happy you enjoyed your meals. Please do come back for another visit!
Were the bars in the noise level question supposed to mark decibels?
Thanks for your review! Hope to see you again soon!
We had dinner at Woods twice while staying at the Inn. Both meals were incredible! The scallop special with bean and lentil cassoulet was excellent and very inventive, as were the grilled cheese with curried tomato sauce special. The ceviche was also very good, I’m not usually a fan of ceviche but this iteration was unbelievably tasty- it had a bitterness/sourness that I couldn’t place and which worked well with the gentle heat in the dish. Highly recommend this spot!
Hi Thomas, So happy you enjoyed your meal so much- our very talented chef puts much love and care into his dishes and we're so happy you found them tasty. Hope to see you back again soon!
If you're looking for a meal full of interesting flavors and textures, go to Woods! Arrive early so you can explore the gardens a bit before going into the building, which dates back to the 1790s. If fluke ceviche is still on the menu, order it.
Thanks so much for your review, LoriK! We're so happy you enjoyed your experience and hope to see you back soon.
The best. Simply the best. The food is out of this world, the service spectacular and the setting beautiful
The setting of Lambert’s Cove Inn is absolutely
5 stars —-beyond that a DISAPPOINTMENT ON ALL COUNTS.... and we are NOT “ one-timers = longtime summertime Vineyarders, now Edgartown homeowners=
with vested interest in the success of local businesses.
The evening we were dining, although a Friday in August, was quiet— with the exception of families with young , unhappy children. Our waiter introduced himself and was promptly replaced by someone else — already setting the scene on a rather confusing note....In fact, the best service we received was from the bus service/ server — who should be upgraded= warm, confident , smiling and attentive.
The food was MISERABLE at best and we are NOT FUSSY !! Whole Black Sea bass, that would be “ too much for a petite frame= 20 shishito peppers atop NO FLAVOR .
We’ll never return and I reiterate : A HUGE SHAME because this setting is PERFECTION for someone who can take charge and bring on the magic
Hi Tornado33, We are sorry you were not happy with your dinner experience. We have received extremely positive feedback overall on our new menu and cuisine, but understand that it may not be to everyone's liking. Thanks for your appreciation of the setting - in which we have invested lots of time and money to enhance - and our busser, who is indeed a wonderful asset. We will consider ways in which we can improve the overall dining experience. Hope you reconsider and try us again!
Much too noisy. Too many kids just running around the dining room. Thought it would be an end of summer meal at a nice Martha’s Vineyard Inn. Didn’t think we were going to a dinner at Howard Johnson’s.
Hi MichaelS, We are sorry that some individual patrons disturbed your dining experience. While we are proud to be a family-friendly restaurant, the situation you describe is unusual for us. We talked to the patrons you are referring to, and tried our best to address the situation. We hope you try us again some time as this issue is very unlikely to occur again.
We had a 7:15 pm reservation. We were told to wait at the bar. Bartender was great . We had to wait a while for our table . The water server was great but we did not see our waitress for another 30 minutes . Waitress. Was not friendly . To be honest out of the party of four most of us did not like our food . The steak was inedible . The chicken was in know way a half , the chicken liver and tuna mouse appetizers were inedible.
Never going back !
Hi, We are sorry you did not enjoy your dining experience. When patrons show up earlier than their reservation time, we do our best to accommodate them, but on busy summer nights, there could be a wait. We are surprised to hear you disliked your food so much as we have received very positive feedback from most of our customers on our new menu and cuisine, but we understand people may have different tastes.
Great food, especially the smoked dishes.
So happy you enjoyed the food! Hope to see you again soon!
The food was inventive, and fresh, and delicious. Our only regret is that we went there our last night on the Vineyard so we have to wait till next year to go again. What a wonderful new addition to MV. We hope that lots of other people frequent this new restaurant so that we can return to it next year and again and again. Best of luck to the new owner and chef team. They are trying very hard (and succeeding!) to do beautiful creative things with wonderful ingredients in a lovely setting. Run, don't walk, to this new up-island gem.
Hi Heather, Thanks so much for your wonderful review! We are so happy you enjoyed the food and setting so much, and hope to see you again soon!
Food was very good. Service was abysmal. Not a busy night and our server spent most of her time at the computer terminal. Tip: don’t start taking a 10-top order when your 2-top is being served their app and expecting their wine. Trading a 30 second task for a 10 minute delay. Who serves mussels in a tiny bowl without a plate underneath or a place to put the shells? Both of us felt judged for our perceived age difference. Gray man w a younger date.
This was hands down the worst restaurant experience of my life. I have never felt compelled to write a review before - but the experience here has just forced it. We did the bbq Tuesday. Every last thing was terrible. The menu was very limited; the food took forever to come out; when it did it arrived with many apologies for not including several items they ran out of (this was explained to be a chronic issue at the place). Afterwards we went to the s’mores table - where we had to scrounge for left over chocolate pieces - and clean already used marshmallows sticks from previous customers. The staff told us someone was supposed to be there to assist - but they left. Shockingly bad.
We are sorry you felt so disappointed by your experience. Our bbqs are very popular, family-friendly events with live music and a festive feel. Our menu is indeed much smaller than our regular menu, and we do our best to estimate demand for each item. We apologize that we ran out of some of the favorites, including the s'mores which come free with an entree. We will certainly look into increasing quantities of our offerings, particularly towards the end of the evening.
As New Yorkers, we believe we are accustomed to some of the best venues for eating. We would put The Woods at Lambert’s Cove Inn on par with the best restaurants we have experienced in ny and our best gastronomic experience in mv for 2019. The staff were warm and delightful and we loved the serving size. Bravo.
Thanks so much for such a high compliment! We are honored you feel this way and hope to see you again soon!
Woods was superb! Locally sourced offerings were delicious, the setting gorgeous and the staff extremely helpful!
So happy you enjoyed your dinner so much - hope to see you again soon!
Outstanding! My second time there and it’s fabulous. Great service. The food is wonderful. Love the decor
Thanks so much for returning for a second meal! We're so happy you enjoyed everything and hope to see you again soon!
We had a fantastic time at this restaurant. The food was delicious and the staff was friendly and knowledgeable. Highly recommended!!
So happy you enjoyed your meal and service! We hope to see you again soon!
Our second time eating there this summer. Great food and amazing, helpful server. New favorite spot.
We love getting reviews like yours from repeat customers! Thanks so much and hope to see you again soon!
A nice restaurant in a remote setting. The service was awful. Our server was personable but absent most of the meal. I ordered a beer that never arrived but it appeared on our bill. No cracked pepper offered for dishes. Lady at another table went to the bar to put in her drink order because of slow service. This was a Tuesday and the place wasn’t packed. Food was decent, but MV has too many dining options for a $180 dissapointment. Will never go back.
We are happy your appreciated the restaurant and sorry the service did not meet your expectations. This is unusual for us - most folks are very happy with their service. We will certainly look into what happened and do everything we can to make sure it doesn't happen again. We hope you will reconsider and give us a chance to make it up to you!
We have been coming to the Vineyard for 40 years and have never been to Woods at Lambert's Cove Inn....what were we thinking? Great food, will be back again this summer and for years to come.
So happy you joined us for dinner and enjoyed your meal! We hope to see you back again soon, and whenever you're back in the Vineyard.
Hands down my new favorite restaurant on Martha’s Vineyard. Lovely ambiance, attentive staff in a peaceful setting with food that is truly exceptional. Chef Alvarado doesn’t just prepare food, he creates amazing taste compositions. I recommend trying as many of his small plates as you dare eat, we found each plate unique and fantastically creative and so tasty. We will definitely be back.
Thanks so much for your review! Chef Jimmy certainly pours his heart and soul into his food, and you can definitely taste it in his delicious cuisine. We hope to see you back soon!
My husband had the Roast Chicken with Peruvian spices. Slightly smoky. Extra moist. He said it was the best chicken he ever had. I had the Tigers Milk Cebiche. It was delicious! Also
Loved the Grey Barn spinach. Sautéed with garlic. Excellent!
Hi MarilynT, Thanks so much for your review! You chose some of our favorites on the menu, and we're so happy you enjoyed them so much. Hope to see you back soon to try out some other delicious options!
The Woods is a simply elegant (& elegantly simple) restaurant - totally renovated within the past of years, the feel of the place is rustic, yet modern, with a large stove fireplace & windows spanning one entire side of the room. We had a cozy comfortable corner table, where it was just the two us.
The meal was beyond compare: the mussels, fresh from the Vineyard sea; the vegetables, straight from the farmers market; the pasta & bread, homemade. The preparations of each dish had just the right amount of slices & herbs without overpowering the food itself.
The wait staff is warm, welcoming, & efficient. We also met the manager & the chef, who made the rounds of the tables to make sure everyone was happy with their meal.
We highly recommend the Woods Restaurant - & if you want to have a quiet, well-looked after weekend, you can stay at the Inn & have all your meals there. You’re in for a wonderful experience if you do!
Thanks so much for your review! We are so happy you enjoyed your meal and experience at Woods and hope to see you again soon.
Delightful MV spot on the west side and worth the trip. Tucked down one of the islands many wooded roads, you end in a very tranquil spot. It is a 15 room inn with an impressive kitchen committed to a tightly curated menu of home made pasta (1st course), fresh salads, entrees of off-the-boat Fish, pork chicken or a burger. We had vegan and a gluten-free diners in our group and they accommodated us well. I had a home made pasta with pork shank ragu and sautéed spinach and garlic which was very satisfying. We also enjoyed a pan seared salmon with red pepper hollandaise and a very fresh watermelon salad.
Our very knowledgeable server who was willing to answer any question from our vegan member made the experience all the more enjoyable. The staff seem to be invested in the success of the inn and restaurant which makes the experience more familiar. Strongly recommend for family, group of friends or even a romantic get away dinner.
We are so happy you had such a great visit to Woods and hope you'll come back soon! Our staff works very hard to provide an excellent customer experience, and we're so glad they helped enhance your visit.
Great food and very quiet
Had to wait 45 minutes for our reserved table. Half of the entrees and desserts were not available once we were seated. Will no longer recommend to friends.
Hi FredK. We apologize deeply for your lengthy wait. We underestimated how popular the restaurant would be that night, and were unfortunately overbooked compared to our staff and food capacity. We have taken several actions to fix that, and do not anticipate it happening again. We hope you will reconsider and try us again - we would certainly appreciate the opportunity to make it up to you!
New restaurant (changed owners last year) that clearly needs to figure out their operation. Food was nice. Service and organization was pretty horrible but they were apologetic and I am sure will improve over time.
Dear Anonymous, Thanks for your review. We are so happy you enjoyed the food. The night you visited, we underestimated how popular the restaurant would be and were unfortunately overbooked compared to our staff capacity. We have taken several actions to fix that, and do not anticipate it happening again. We hope you pay us another visit - our staff are working hard to make sure that service and organization are constantly improving!
Food was pretty good, but two issues put a damper on the evening. First, our waiter informed us that the dishes were intended to be shared which seemed fine, but consequently, we should not expect the dishes to come out at the same time. guests should be aware of this ahead of time. It could be a wonderful experience for a group. Alternatively, it could be a real problem for groups whose individuals wish to enjoy their own meal at the same time as their friends. Second, there is no consideration given to dietary restrictions. For those of you who are celiac be forewarned that you will have a different experience than everyone else. I understand that a top notch menu would not be littered with symbols for dietary contents, but the chef and team should have strategies or alternatives for folks with dietary restrictions such as celiac disease.
Hi TheBigNight, Thanks for your review. We are happy you enjoyed our food, and appreciate your feedback. While our plates are generally served as soon as they are ready, our servers can certainly accommodate guests who would like to eat larger dishes at the same time. Our menu has many options for all types of dietary needs, but if you have a special request, our team is happy to do what they can to meet your needs. Please come back and we'll make sure you have an even better experience!
OpenTable ダイナー376名によるWoods at Lambert’s Cove Innの評価は4.1☆です。