Maialina Italian Kitchen + Bar
Opened for about a month and decided to the new place. We have a variety of appetizers and entrees between the group and found every one to be tasty/ well prepared and presented. Will have to come back
Very happy Maialina opened in Indy. We needed an Italian restaurant like this. We’ll definitely be back.
The bruschetta with the fig jam and ricotta cheese is a meal itself. Very good! Had a nice glass of a Super Tuscany from Italy 🇮🇹
Hey Cindy! Thanks so much for the review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your bruschetta - it's one of our best sellers! We look forward to serving you again soon! Cheers! -Francesca
We had a reservation and arrived on time and we were told that it may be 10 min and to wait at the bar. The bar was completely full so we waited outside. Came back in 15 min and our table was still not ready. We were then told it would be another 30 min and they would call us when the table was cleared. We stood outside and in about 20 min someone came out and offered the two of us a table for 6. By this point it was past 8pm (our original reservation was for 7:30) and we were starving so we took the table set for 6. After we sat it was about 10 min before someone came and took our drink orders. I must also add that it was very hot and humid in the restaurant. Once we placed our order, we waited and the food arrived about 30 min later. I had the bolognese which had good flavor but the dish was watery. My husbands ravioli was ok but not extraordinary. We decided to settle up and go somewhere else for dessert. I will say, the staff was all very friendly which is nice but everything else was just “meh” which was totally disappointing since we spent our rare babysitter night here. We probably won’t return.
Hi Codi, I'm so sorry to hear about your recent experience. I'll be informing our management team about this and I appreciate your comments. We take all parts of our business seriously and will use this to grow from. I'm sorry to hear you won't return. I hope to use your feedback to improve our future operations to create a much better than "meh" experience. We apologize that your experience was not what you expected. Best, Francesca
Maialina is a lovely place and feels cozy. Nice that they take reservations too. The food was very good and not overly pricey . We enjoyed the bruschetta with whipped ricotta and fig jam especially. The only issue was slow service which is probably due to the restaurant being so new. I would definitely return and have already recommended to friends!
Hello Mel! Thank you for your review! I'm sorry to hear the service was slow when you were dining with us. Service is an important piece of our concept and we will be sure to improve. We appreciate your support and hope to see you again soon! Cheers! Francesca
Prosciutto with melon was tasty. Mixed drink menu was ok... a little citrusy across the board but may be the Italian part there.
Main dishes were delish.
Overall was upper end of what I would expect for prices, so not a great value restaurant. Restaurant was pretty loud. Sounded more like a cafeteria than Italian restaurant. Would be good to invest in some ceiling sound panels to tone it down.
Hello Abe! I appreciate your feedback and will pass your comments along to our management team. We apologize that your experience was not what you expected. I hope we get the opportunity to serve you again and make it right! Best, Francesca
Had a few dishes including the Garlic Parmesan bread. Everything tasted great but I’d order a years supply of that bread. Definitely coming back !
Hey Sabrina! Thank you for your review! The garlic parmesan is one of my favorites as well! I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your dinner with us and we look forward to serving you again soon! Cheers! Francesca
The food was average. Our server was excellent.
Thank you for joining us, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the service! Obviously, our food is an important piece of our concept and we will be sure to try to improve and go beyond average! We appreciate your support and hope to be able to serve you again. -Best, Francesca
I was really looking forward to this restaurant opening and was sadly disappointed. Everything was just fair. I will give it another chance in the future. Hopefully was just an off night. Appetizers (mussels and truffle ricotta bruschetta) were really good.
Hi Sheila, Thank you for your honest feedback. We apologize that your experience was not what you expected. We take all parts of our business seriously and will use this to grow from. I hope we get the opportunity to serve you again and make it right! Thank you, Francesca
The reason you go to a restaurant is for the food and the four of us were very pleased with quality and quantity of our selections. They’ve only been open for a few weeks and we felt the time to prepare our dinners was a little on the slow side but the food made up for that. Our server checked back often and was very informed about menu selections.
Hey Bob! Thank you for your review! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your food! We are working every day to improve our ticket times, so hopefully we will be even better the next time you come visit! I appreciate your feedback and support! Cheers! Francesca
We were looking forward to dining here, and we weren't disappointed. There were only two slight distractions. It was a sunny early evening, and people who faced the upper windows were blinded for a while by the light. Hopefully, they will install automatic blinds up there, or perhaps tint the windows. Our server told us they were out of anchovies, and that was disappointing to two of us. However, this was only their second weekend since opening, so I am sure they will solve that problem. Our server was gracious, and he answered our question about the wine. The appetizers and dinners were all delicious. I ordered the best chicken parmesan ever. Two of the owners/managers came over at different times and asked how everything was. That was a plus. We will go back!
Hello! Thank you for the review! I'm happy to hear you had a nice evening with us! Unfortunately, the tint we did put on the top windows doesn't look like it's helping us out! Thank you for the honest feedback and suggestion for the blinds as we are looking for other solutions! We hope to be able to serve you again soon! Cheers! Francesca
Service was excellent and I really love the decor and feel of the place. My sister had salmon and I had the vodka pasta. Both were excellent. The Vodka pasta had just a touch a heat. We also had the garlic bread - which was addictive. Prices seemed very reasonable to the quality.
Hello! I'm so happy to hear you and your sister had a nice evening with us! Nothing beats a sisters night out! We hope to be able to serve you again soon! Cheers! Francesca
Great for any occasion
Great food and service!
Hello Janet! Thank you for the review! We're happy to hear you had a nice evening with us! We hope to be able to serve you again soon! Cheers! Francesca
For a restaurant that has only been open a short time, they seem to have worked out a lot of bugs. Good food and social experience.
Hello! Thank you for the review! I'm happy to hear you had a nice evening and we hope to be able to serve you again soon! Cheers! - Francesca
Food was very good but took way too long to get. Not sure if it was a kitchen problem or wait staff. Our waiter was not very attentive and we had to ask servers for assistance several times.
Hello! Thanks for the review and the feedback! I will be sure to pass along your comments to both our kitchen staff and front of house! I'm sorry to hear the service wasn't excellent, but hopefully we can learn from this and improve for the future. Thanks again, Francesca
The spaghetti and meatballs were on point! Service was great too.
Hello Kelsey! Thank you for the kind words! I'm thrilled to hear you had a great evening with us! We hope to serve you some more spaghetti and meatballs in the near future! Cheers! Francesca
You're first welcomed by the smell, which is wonderful like entering an Italian kitchen. Staff was welcoming and helped with reservation changes without a problem. Waitress was friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. Food was very traditional, all the things you'd expect to see on the menu were there with a few newer items (a great balance).
Hello Chris! Thanks for the review! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your evening with us! We hope to be able to serve you again soon! Cheers! Francesca
I went to Maialina against my better judgment. I usually never go to a new restaurant until they have been operating for four or five months. But some friends of mine knew the owners and had gone to the soft opening and raved about the place.
I went the following Tuesday and my experience was not good. I took two friends one of them requested a taste of a certain draft beer which the waitress brought. He liked it and ordered it. She came back a few minutes later and said they were out of it. We waited way too long for our pasta which came out overcooked and not enough sauce. Also, the room we were served in did not have shades and the sun was bearing down on our table. Not a good evening for us.
Hello, I'm so sorry to hear about your recent experience. I will pass your comments along to our team and I apologize you felt that way. As you stated, we are pretty new and still experiencing some growing pains. However, we are still disappointed we were not able to provide a pleasant experience for you. Thank you for your honest comments as this will help improve our operations in the future. Best, Francesca
Unfortunately, with the usually hot weather the restaurants air conditioning was not working and the restaurant was closed with a sign taped to the front door. I understand the malfunction but we were not notified of the closure until we drove to the restaurant and read the sign taped to the door. We would have appreciated a call or email with the closure information.
Hello Kenneth, Thanks for reaching out and I am sorry this happened. Unfortunately we could not reach you at the phone number that was linked to your reservation. Since we were unable to leave a voicemail, we did try sending a text message as well but I am sorry it appears that did not go through either. We will try to do a better job at confirming phone numbers once reservations are received. Again, our apologies this happened. Best, Francesca
Sophisticated decor! DELICIOUS food! Friendly staff! Tasty cocktails!
Thank you for the review! We hope to see you again soon!
We had an amazing meal at Maialina. We were a party of 4 celebrating a birthday. We had appetizers, salads, entrees, and dessert. Everything was wonderful! I will be craving the Tuscan Kale Salad and Cacio e Pepe until our next meal at Maialina. In addition to wonderful food, the staff was friendly and efficient. We felt that the menu prices were very reasonable.
Hello Arline! Thank you for the review! We're happy to hear your party enjoyed a nice evening celebrating with us! We look forward to serving you again soon! Cheers! Francesca
Since this restaurant was so new, there were still a few kinks to be worked out when we went. The lack of AC was the biggest thing. But they have done a lot with the space, and the food was really good. I had the pesto ravioli and it was wonderful! The cocktails were probably the best part of the meal. I am excited for this unique addition to the neighborhood!
Hello Kelly! Thanks for the review. We're hoping to have the A/C issue remedied by the end of the week. Hopefully we can get you back in to enjoy a nice, cool dinner sometime soon! Cheers! Francesca
Having waited what seems like ages we were very excited for Maialina to open right around the corner from us. The day of our reservation we were notified shortly before that they were having AC issues but it was fixed and would be cooling down. Not a problem, things happen. (The restaurant was also able to accommodate a list minute added guests which I’m very grateful for) However, in addition to the heat we were seated in the front corner of the restaurant in full-on BLAZING sun the entire meal. We shifted our table a bit to the disapproving glare of the hostess though no one inquired as to what the issue could be they did add another table to ours for some reason. As for food the vale/portion seems to be way off. With other nearby quality Italian restaurants it seems unreasonable to charge $18 for half a butterflied chicken breast as chicken parmesan. Sides for the entrees were roasted potatoes that seemed more like a breakfast side or green beans which no one at our table ordered... a little baffling for Italian. The marinara sauce was very good with a meatball appetizer but again, clocking in at $3/meatball the value just isn’t there. Lastly, one of the pasta dishes ordered (cacio e pepe) has good flavor overall but the noodles were overdone and clumping and the $5 of added chicken amounted to maybe one chicken breast tenderloin. We did speak with an owner toward the end of our meal and recommended curtains for the sun issue (the other side of the restaurant does have curtains) and the fact that the tinting on the windows looks bad from outside but we probably won’t be returning any time soon.
Hello Andrew, Thanks for your review. I'm so sorry to hear you guys had such an unpleasant evening with us. Being new, we are still experiencing lots of growing pains and unexpected issues! I will be sure to pass along your comments to our team in hopes we can learn from our mistakes. I apologize again for the poor experience you had with us. Best, Francesca
Maialina is a new restaurant in Indianapolis. For only being open three nights, our experience was exceptional. Most new restaurant are still working out the kinks where as Maialina had reduced the number of tables open to ensure everyone had an excellent experience and plan to open the entire restaurant to full capacity slowly ... a trait that most new restaurants should consider. We started with a bottle of wine (Super Tuscan) and Nonna's Meatballs - excellent. Next we had the Caesar Salad and Caprese - excellent and flavorful. For our main course we had the Cacio e Pepe (light and a little spicy - excellent), Chicken Parmesan (very tasty and filling) and Salmon (perfect for light and flavorful). We plan on going back often as this is a neighbor gem that we really enjoyed.
Hello! Thank you so much for the kind words! My nonna would be so happy to hear her recipes are still being loved and enjoyed by our customers! We look forward to serving you again soon! Cheers! Francesca
I was so excited for this restaurant to open. Perhaps we should have waited a few months before trying it out.
We were seated in a corner with only a view of the host stand. and forgotten. There were many managers on staff who did not notice us either as they gathered 5 feet talking to the hostess. Lucky for us an owner seated himself next to us and noticed our poor service.
The waiter told us the gnocchi was handmade and it was not. The ravioli was good and the bolognese on the gnocchi was nice.
It was opening week so I will revise this review upon our next visit in hopes that they improve.
Hello! Thank you for your review. I'm so sorry to hear you had a mediocre experience with us. As you know, opening weeks can be a learning experience! We're grateful you're willing to give us another chance and we hope to wow you on your next visit! We appreciate the feedback! Best, Francesca
My wife and I visited on the first night open to the public. At 7:30 we were seated aside the bar in a nice spot to people watch Fountain Square and still be able to talk without worry of being overhead by others. My wife had the signature Aperol spritz which looked like orange Kool-Aid but had a much more sophisticated taste that was not immediately comparable to anything else so it was nice to enjoy something new. The meatball appetizer was wonderful; 3 large meatballs smothered in a nicely salted chunky sauce. The fig jam, gorgonzola, sausage, caramelized onion flatbread was the most flavorful and creative flatbread I have had in a long time. The chicken cacciatore was well worth the wait with delicious flavor of capers laced throughout the dish. If you are not a fan of capers, this may not be your dish, but if you are.... get this dish! After their invitation only weekend, the restaurant was out of gnocchi so the Bolognese sauce came with rigatoni, not what I preferred but I tried it. The 3 meat Bolognese was soft, creamy, and delicious. After the meatballs, flatbread, and tasting the cacciatore, the Bolognese seemed a little flat. Overall the restaurant is appropriately priced for location, food, and service. Finally, the service from all levels (i.e. owner's father to busboys) was exemplary. We felt well taken care of and will be back again soon.
Hello Sikma! Thank you so much for trying us out on our opening week! I'm happy to hear you had a nice experience with us. We have our gnocchi fully stocked so hope to be able to serve you again soon! Cheers! Francesca
Service was awful, waited over 30 mins for our check, after pointing that out, a hostess eventually brought our check, waited another 15 mins and had to go up to the bar to have them run my card!
Food was solid, but service ruined the experience
Would expect them to be on top of everything for a new restaurant. Seemed a bit disorganized,
Ambiance seemed a bit basic, lacking identity.
Hello, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear you had such a bad experience with us on our opening night. We should've been more on top of it and for that I apologize. We appreciate the feedback and will definitely use it to improve in the future. We hope this will not deter you from giving us another chance! Best, Francesca