We went on a Sunday and wanted a roast in particular. Our table was at 6:30 so plenty of time remaining for service however they had sold out of roasts and only had 3 other options. In the end we actually left and went somewhere else.
Hi there, We're sorry that the menu availability was particularly low on your visit. As you may know, the government had made the lockdown announcement the day before your visit. This effected us massively as we were very busy over then next couple of days (Sunday in particular.) Unfortunately, there is no way to prepare for this but we're sorry that it effected your visit. We hope to see you once we are back up and running. Stay Safe, Team Wandle
Nice pub, food was great but no reference to the fact that multiple 2.5 hour bookings were taboo. Having explained the situation we were met with hostility and made to feel quite unwelcome. Bar fella actually swore at one of our party which was a bit bang on. Was more reasonable later on when we spoke but damage had already been done.
Hi Ben, Thanks for the positives about the food, etc. With regards to the 2.5hours booking times, this is a rule that we need to stick to for Covid-19 reasons. We don't accommodate multiple bookings because this then nullifies the purpose of having time restrictions per booking. We're sorry that you then felt unwelcome because of this, and we certainly don't condone bad language - rest assured that this will be investigated and won't happen again. We'd hope to see you again, Team Wandle
I very rarely bother with reviews, but this places deserves one.....The venue is a bit soulless but that’s more covid rules than anything else. The ordering app is incredibly un user friendly, I even ended up ordering a whole meal by mistake which the staff where very Nonchalant about. But the worst thing of all was the food - it was everything I thought pub food had stopped being. Grey, cold, tasteless. The roast beef was like shoe leather, fish and chips burned, pie dry and reheated. Just don’t bother serving food if this is what you turn out. Such a missed opportunity of a good local pub. Don’t go until it’s under new ownership. Such a waste of money.
Hi, It sounds as though you didn't get to see the best of what we have to offer, and for that we are sorry. We're aware that the ordering service has some issues, but our team are always working hard to try an improve that quality. In regards to the food, this doesn't sound like the dishes that we would pride ourselves on. We're so sorry that you were unhappy with you meal and visit. We would certainly encourage you to return so that we can show you The Wandle that we're proud of. Team Wandle.
Very average roast pork and beef, soggy crackling on the pork. Lack of seasoning on everything. But veggie dishes decent. Would recommend for drinks not for food.
Hi Ally, We're sorry that you were not impressed by your Roast Pork or Beef dishes. Thank you for the feedback nonetheless. We would encourage you to return after lockdown and give our menu another try - it would be great to see you again. Best and Safe Wishes, Team Wandle
We arrived at 6.45 to be told there was no food because they'd been busy. I'd booked through Match Pint because we wanted to watch football. It was on but there was no sound and we were sat in the area where there was a really loud quiz going on. Order drinks through an app and then the wait....
Hi Cat, We're sorry to hear that your trip didn't work out as you'd planned. We had a particularly busy day on your visit and this meant that our menu availability was effected. With everything that is going on with Covid-19, we have had to become a very versatile pub which creates a challenge of balancing all that we offer. Very rarely - these things clash, like the football and the weekly pub quiz, so we are sorry about that. We'd hope to see you again soon. Apologies again, Team Wandle
I usually absolutely love the Wandle but have to leave my feedback after this visit. We ordered a vegan burger and a meat one arrived, luckily it wasn't bitten into before they came to tell us their mistake (only because she started on the chips and thought the burger smelt like meat) but there was little apology and no compensation offered. We had a table booked at half 7 but weren't seated until 7:44. We were made to leave at 9.45 even though other tables remained seated.
Hi Georgie, We're sorry to hear this, this sounds like an awful mistake that we can't apologies enough for. In regards to timings - we have to stick to the 10pm curfew rule which unfortunately means that we need all guests to have left the premises by 10pm. Sometimes, it takes a little longer so we need to enforce this rule a little earlier. I'm sorry that you felt as though others were staying longer, but I can assure you they would've followed very closely behind you. Apologies, Team Wandle
Great food and atmosphere in the outdoor beer garden. Warm and cosy, especially for an outdoor space.
Hi Lola, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a 5 star review. We're glad that you loved the garden and we love to see you here again soon. Best wishes, Team Wandle
Super lovely and helpful staff in this weird time!
Hi Natalie, Wow, what a great review. Thank you so much for this - we'll hope to see you again soon. Best wishes, Team Wandle
They've done a great job of turning the outside into a socially distant place to drink: separate tables, heaters, etc
My chicken wings were good, as were sweet potato fries. my freind didnt rate her squash curry ...food is decent enough. but do order early as kitchen closes due to curfew etc. Staff were ace, super friendly and helpful
Hi Sophie, Thanks for taking the time to leave this great review. We're so happy that you had a great time with us and we hope to see you again soon. Thanks again, Team Wandle
This is perfect for outdoor seating at the moment! Really nice outdoor space. Very friendly staff
We were sat in a corner outside without any heaters and it was freezing! Totally appreciate it was busy but we got moved to a freezing spot so we could watch the football even though there were loads of spaces inside and we had pre booked asking to be sad near a tv. I usually love this pub but this was a bit annoying
As always great service in these interesting times
Buzzy place. Bit noisy.
Food and service nice. You have to order on your phone.
Great atmosphere, especially outside, with heated tables.
Good vibe and good service. Will definitely be coming back soon.
Staff were particularly patronising - shame because I like this pub. Food was ok.
Great outdoor space! Food was also great and friendly staff
Great staff, food & service!
OTT covid restrictions make for an unpleasant experience.
I get that every pub has to do certain things to make themselves safe, but this was by far the strictest place I've been. Forcing people to use a different tracking system is very irritating. Being forced to use an online website to order and not being given menus was very annoying. Oh, and my signal inside was poor so this wasn't an overly easy experience. Basically, by the time you order you're worn out and any attempt to relax is gone.
The food when it came was fine at best. I had the burger, and it was two thin burgers rather than one proper burger. Pretty average. The accompanying fries weren't overly good either. Not bad, just fine.
I've marked service low due to the OTT covid restrictions, staff themselves were pleasant although no one noticed we were struggling to order.
The Wandle has always been a loud venue, but I think the barriers between seating areas might actually be increasing the noise.
All that being said, the Wandle is still a pleasant pub and in normal times worth a visit. I mean the above as constructive criticism, not being mean for the sake of it. Just relaxing the ordering system slightly would make for a nicer experience.
Pub well organised and food good. Would recommend
Food was good, just not much on the menu at the moment which is understandable. Some more main options would be good
Just all in all a bit meh. The online ordering system isn’t great - our special requests weren’t processed. They tried to seat us on a high stool table which is fine for drinks but not really what you expect when you’ve booked Sunday lunch. Plus they’d run out of ketchup (and tried to pass off chipotle sauce as ketchup!) which is a bit shoddy when you consider menu of burger and chips, fish and chips etc. - can’t understand why they didn’t just run to the Tesco across the road and get more for the weekend!
The best Covid friendly pub I have experienced yet. The guy who checked us in at the start was great, attentive and helpful, and the pub felt safe without feeling sterile which is a very hard balance to find. Well done The Wandle!
Handling COVID-19 very well, they have strict on measures in place and there was a security guard at the door making sure that the rules were followed. Felt safer than I have at a lot of pubs, and the atmosphere was great too! Will definitely be going there again.
Hi Anna, Thanks for the review, we pride ourselves in the high level of safety we have implemented to safeguard our team and our guests. i'm glad you felt safe and we look forward to seeing you again in the future! Kind regards, - Team Wandle
Great venue and the service and people were a great help.
Enjoyed the day and recommend it to others
Hi Matt. Thank you for the 5 star feedback. We'll look forward to seeing you again soon. Many Thanks, Team Wandle
Great service during Coronavirus + Eat Out to Help Out. The staff are fab as always & attention to the notes submitted via the ordering app really appreciated. A few items weren't shown on the app (coffee/hot drinks/shandy etc.), though didn't realise we could actually come to the bar to order those. Great work Team Wandle!
Great little pub with delicious food. Socially distanced with full table service and fast delivery on a great app that is easy to follow and order from.
Great food and service! All really well distanced/super clean.
First time visiting since distancing restrictions implemented, the process was well managed and staff were really helpful.
not atmosphere, too expensive, no music would not go again
Expensive food of not particularly good quality. Loud setting.
It was overall a good night out, but there were a few issues with food - kids menu entirely sold out so had to get adult portions for the kids which was costly. The burger bun was very very stale.
Most disappointingly, we were sat at a table next to a window where there were a group of people sat in the garden smoking and the smoke drifted in throughout our meal. If you have smoking tables outside, I would suggest they are not placed in a window leading to the dining room, and that if you can’t change that, do not sit families in that particular part of the pub. 3/4 of us at that table are asthmatics and it was overall very unpleasant.
Other than that, the meal was acceptable. Drinks were good and the kids were in awe of the giant brownies - although I’d suggest smaller brownies and more ice cream.
I’ll come for drinks again as you’re at the end of my new road, but there are nicer places to eat for a similar price in the area.
Service was friendly and the Covid friendly ordering on your phone worked well. Interior is nice and the atmosphere isn’t spoilt by the busy crossroads just outside. We ordered the chicken pie and the fish pie. These both should have cost (we got the eat out help out discount) £15/16 each but tasted less good than a bog standard supermarket ready meal. The mash potato with the chicken pie was fairly unpleasant - lumpy and tasteless. The prawns in my fish pie still had some shell on. The staff were great and this seemed like a perfectly nice place to come for a drink, but don’t recommend coming here for the food.
Great atmosphere and good service overall. Would return.
It was nice to get back into the Wandle. The efforts that have been made to adapt to the challenges of COVID-19 have been fantastic and whilst it's not the same atmosphere as before, it's still a great experience in these new normal times.
The Beer Garden is attractive and spacious. The tables are well laid out and separated by see through screens which actually make the seating areas more cosy. On Sunday when we visited there was a guitarist between 3-5pm. Overall a very pleasant space to spend a few hours on a sunny Sunday afternoon.
We all thought that the food was really tasteless.
Good service but kitchen closed at 9pm, tried to order at 9:02 and were told no, which was a bit disappointing.
Date with my wife :D
Excellent service and well handled distancing - would recommend
Wandleは Deliveroo と提携してデリバリーを行っています。